Saki Murakami - Illustrator in Tokyo

Saki Murakami

I'm an illustrator in Tokyo, Japan

Available for contracts

I speak English and Japanese

Find me at

About me

Based out of Tokyo and having graduated from the Kyoto City University of Arts with an Art Curator license, I have been working as a graphic designer with international companies in the music, IT and games industries for more than ten years.

In addition to design work I illustrate in my private time—my accomplishments include work for Paramount Pictures, Samonsite and Adobe Behance. My artistic world is one that is both dark and cute, and whose inhabitants share those qualities. With a diverse portfolio I am open to collaborating on a variety of opportunities.

My Creations

  1. Halloween

    6 March 2019

    ‘Jigsaw Cub’, the biggest jigsaw puzzle company in Japan, commissioned me to create two Halloween-themed puzzles. Here are the completed puzzles. They can be found here:

  2. Under The Sea

    6 March 2019

    While my art style is dark and cute in general, in particular I like sea creatures. Octopus, jellyfish and deep sea fish have strange and uniquely shaped bodies—and to me are the embodimentof what my artist’s world represents. Because of this I have drawn a large number of underwater illustrations... continue reading (0, 1 image)

  3. Woods

    6 March 2019

    When illustrating I generally prefer using pen and pencil over a PC and tablet. I love the magic of pencils. I think drawing on paper provides more freedom and gives more opportunity for creative inspiration than digital drawings.

    I often sketch out first drafts in my notebook, picking up key... continue reading (0, 1 image)

  4. Monster House

    6 March 2019

    While my art style is ‘Dark and Cute’ I particularly like drawing animals and creatures. Creatures can have mysterious bodies, and give me the freedom to draw them as I like from my imagination. This illustration is the one of the art pieces I exhibited in Los Angeles over the... continue reading (0, 1 image)